Applications Invited for United Nations Journalism Fellowships – UN

Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists
Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists

Applications Invited for 2015 Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications for its 2015 program for journalists from the developing countries of Africa, Asia and Latin America/the Caribbean.
Please visit for more details.

Follow/Like the Zambia UN Mission facebook page for updates

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications from professional journalists from developing countries for its 2015 fellowship program. The application deadline is March 16, 2015.

The fellowships are available to radio, television, print and web journalists, age 25 to 35, from developing countries who are interested in coming to New York to report on international affairs during the 70th session of the United Nations General Assembly.  The fellowships will begin in early September and extend to late November and will include the cost of travel and accommodations in New York, as well as a per diem allowance.

The fellowship program is open to journalists who are native to one of the developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island countries), Latin America and the Caribbean, and are currently working full-time for a bona fide media organization in a developing nation. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in and commitment to international affairs and to conveying a better understanding of the United Nations to their readers and audiences.  They must also have approval from their media organizations to spend up to two months in New York to report from the United Nations.

In an effort to rotate recipient countries, the Fund will not consider journalist applications for 2015 from nations selected in 2014:  Nigeria, Tunisia, the Philippines, and Vietnam.  Journalists from these countries may apply in 2016.

Four journalists are selected each year after a review of all applications. The journalists who are awarded fellowships are given the incomparable opportunity to observe international diplomatic deliberations at the United Nations, to make professional contacts that will serve them for years to come, to interact with seasoned journalists from around the world, and to gain a broader perspective and understanding of matters of global concern.  Many past fellows have risen to prominence in their professions and countries. The program is not intended to provide basic skills training to journalists, as all participants are media professionals.

Click here to review fellowship eligibility criteria and documentation requirements as well as the fellowship application form.  Please note that we cannot accept email applications.

Questions about the program, eligibility and application process can be directed by email to [email protected].

To read more about the Fund’s 2014 fellowship recipients, click here

To read more about the Fund’s 2013 fellowship recipients, click here

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

The Fund held its annual luncheon on October 28, 2014 at which Ms. Navi Pillay received the received the Dag Hammarskjold Inspriation Award and Ms. Angélique Kidjo received the Chair Citation.  The 2014 fellowship recipients also spoke at the luncheon.  For more information about the luncheon, click here

If you wish to view photos from the 2014 luncheon, click here