Mulusa loses again?


FORMER Solwezi Central member of Parliament (MP) Lucky Mulusa and former Kasenengwa legislator Victoria Kalima are facing an uncertain and even shaky political future.
This follows a decision by their petitioners to block them from participating in parliamentary elections for the next five years after allegations of electoral malpractices on their part were upheld in the Supreme Court.
Mr Mulusa was petitioned by PF losing candidate Newton Malwa and Ms Kalima’s election was contested by PF losing candidate Saul Zulu.
Mr Malwa and Mr Zulu have asked the Supreme Court for clarification on whether Mr Mulusa and Ms Kalima are eligible to contest future parliamentary elections following the verdict that nullified their polls.
Mr Mulusa had his election nullified by the Supreme Court on December 10 last year and Ms Kalima’s election was annulled on December 23 last year by the same court.
This is contained in an affidavit in support of notice of motions filed by lawyer Bonaventure Mutale on behalf of Mr Zulu and Mr Malwa in the Supreme Court registry on Tuesday.
“It is unclear whether the two respondents [Mr Mulusa and Ms Kalima] are eligible to contest any parliamentary election in the next five years,” Mr Mutale said.
He added: “It is also unclear whether the High Court, the Electoral Commission of Zambia or the National Prosecutions Authority must take any steps in view of the finding by the Supreme Court that Mr Mulusa and Ms Kalima are guilty of having committed corrupt practices in connection with the elections.”
Mr Mutale said the Supreme Court delivered judgments on December 10 and December 23 last year in which it held that Mr Mulusa and Ms Kalima, respectively, were guilty of corrupt activities and nullified their election.
In October last year, petitioners of the election of Charles Kakoma as Zambezi West MP and Eustarckio Kazonga as Vubwi parliamentarian filed notices of motion in the Supreme Court to invoke Section 104 of the Electoral Act No. 12 of 2006.
Section 104 of the Electoral Act No. 12 of 2006 bars any candidate found guilty of electoral malpractice from standing again for five years.
Others that have been affected by court processes after guilty allegations are Petauke Central former MP Dora Siliya, Maxwell Mwale and former Mulobezi legislator Hastings Sililo.