Mutati is new Finance minister

Felix Mutati
Felix Mutati

President Edgar Lungu has appointed former commerce minister in MMD administration Felix Mutati as Minister of Finance,

President Lungu has appointed Mr Mutati as Finance minister as part of his new cabinet which has also included the appointment of provincial ministers in the 10 provinces of the country.

Mr. Lungu has also nominated eight Members of Parliament (MPs) and subsequently appointed as Cabinet and Provincial Ministers.

Mr. Lungu appointed the MPs in pursuant to Article 116 (1) and (2) of the Constitution of Zambia, whilst the nominated MPs have been appointed pursuant to Article 69.

The Head of State announced this in a press statement issued to ZANIS in Lusaka this evening by his Special Assistant for Press and Public Relations, Amos Chanda

Mr. Lungu said the appointments are with immediate effect and they would be sworn-in at state House on Thursday, September 15, 2015.

According to the Statement , the Republican President has re-appointed Margaret Mwanakatwe (MP) as the Minister of Commerce, Trade and Industry while Bahati re-elected MP Harry Kalaba has returned his substantive post as minister of Foreign Affairs.

PF Mansa Central (MP) Chitalu Chilufya is the new minister of Health while Steven Kampyongo has been moved to Minister of Home Affairs.

Former State House Special assistant to the President for project implementation, Lucky Mulusa (Nominated MP) is the new Minister of National Development Planning .

He takes over from Inonge Wina who is newly elected Republican Vice President.

New entrants in cabinet are PF secretary general Davis Chama Nominated MP) who is Minister of Defence taking over from former Siavonga MP Richwell Siamunene.

Renown Unionist Joyce Nonde-Simukoko (Nominated MP) has been appointed Minister of Labour and Social Security .

At Provincial level, Mr. Sydney Mushanga, (MP), who was education deputy minister goes to Central Province as Provincial Minister, while Nixon Chilangwa, (MP) is Luapula Province Minister.

Mr. Malozo Sichone, (MP) who was Eastern Province minister has been moved to Muchinga Province while Nathaniel Mubukwanu (Nominated MP) moves to Western Province.

Outspoken Bowman Lusambo, is Copperbelt province, Mporokoso Brian Mundubile, (MP), ( is the minister for Northern province; MP Makebi Zulu is eastern province minister, while former Zambia’s Ambassador to Mozambique and Chongwe MP Japhen Mwakalombe is the new Lusaka Province Minister;

In North-Western Province, the Head of State has appointed Richard Kapita (Nominated MP) while musician Edify Hamukale (Nominated MP) goes to Southern province.

The swearing in ceremony of the Cabinet Ministers and Provincial Ministers will take place tomorrow (Thursday, 15th September, 2016) at State House at 09:00 hours.

The Cabinet Ministers and Provincial Ministers are expected to be seated by 08:00 hours.

Meanwhile, the President has appointed former Home Affairs Minister Mr Davies Mwila as Secretary General of the Patriotic Front taking over from Mr Davies Chama who is the new Defence Minister.