Tribunal to probe DPP sworn in

Banner 3
Banner 3

Chief Justice Ireen Mambilima has sworn in four members of the tribunal appointed to probe Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Mutembo Nchito.

The tribunal comprise three former Chief Justices namely Justice Anil Silungwe, Justice Matthew Ngulube, Justice Ernest Sakala and a Registrar of the High Court Matthew Zulu.

Justice Silungwe has been sworn in as Chairperson while Justices Ngulube and Sakala as members and Mr. Zulu as the secretary of the tribunal.

The quartet, who took oath in the Lusaka High Court this morning, said they will discharge the specified duties of the said tribunal faithfully and truthfully in accordance with the laws of Zambia.

And Chief Justice Ireen Mambilima expressed confidence that the four will discharge their duties in a fair and impartial manner and afford all the parties concerned a fair hearing.

She said the team comprise some of the best and experienced legal brains in Zambia who have served at highest level in the Zambia’s judicial system.

Justice Mambilima observed that the office of the DPP has come under intense debate in the recent past.

She further stated that the development has also led to citizens going to court to indict the DPP on various issues.

She said the events leading to the establishment of the tribunal were in the public domain as there have been publications and comments both in the print and online media on the holder of the office of the DPP.

On March 10, 2015 President Edgar Lungu appointed a tribunal pursuant to Article 58 (2) and (3) of the constitution to look into the matter of alleged misconduct by the DPP Mutembo Nchito.