Masaiti parliamentary by-election set for April 14

Banner 3
Banner 3

Masaiti parliamentary by-election set for April 14

Lusaka, February 13, 2015, ZANIS–The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has announced that the Masaiti parliamentary by-election will be held on 14 April 2015 alongside the Chawama by-election.

The by-election in Masaiti follows the nullification of the election of Michael Katambo of the opposition MMD by the High court which was upheld by the Supreme court this week.

The ECZ has also announced an additional eight local government by-elections that will be held on April 14, 2015 bringing the total number of ward by-elections to 16.

The ECZ had earlier announced local government by-elections in only eight wards with one each in Eastern and Northern provinces while the remaining six were in the Western province.

ECZ Public Relations Manager Chris Akufuna announced in a statement to ZANIS in Lusaka this evening that the eight additional wards are Kamimba and Ncheka  (Lundazi and Mambwe ) in the Eastern province, Kaunga ward in Luangwa district in Lusaka province and two in the Northern province situated in Kaputa ( Chiyilunda) and Nchelenge in Mporokoso district.

The others include two in Gwembe ( Sinafala ward) and Sinazongwe ward in Sinazongwe district in the Southern province and one in Mwinilunga (Lumwana ward ) in the North-Western province.

The 16 local government by-elections will be held on the same day as the Chawama and Masaiti parliamentary by-elections.

The earlier local government seats announced by the ECZ were Msandile ward in Chipata district and Mungwi ward in Mungwi district of the Northern province.

The six wards in the Western province are Limulunga in Limulunga district, Kamilende in Lukulu district and Katongo ward in Mongu.

The remaining three wards are Mabumbu and Namushakende both in Mongu and Lui in Nalikwanda.

Mr Akufuna said the vacancies in the Local Government wards have arisen following deaths and resignations of Councillors in the 16 wards.