Kambwili assured east youths of empowerment

Banner 3
Banner 3

—-Youth and Sports Minister, Chishimba Kambwili, has assured youths in Eastern province that government is committed to sending Youth Empowerment Funds (YEF) throughout the country.

Mr Kambwili stated that his ministry will send the money for to the province both 2013 and 2014 this year so that youths can have access to the empowerment funds which were not released last year due to administrative issues.

He was speaking when he paid a courtesy call on Eastern province Permanent Secretary, Chileshe Mulenga, at his office today.

Mr Kambwili stated that the province will receive the expected K1.3million for last year and about K1.1 for this year from the national allocation of K20 billion.

Mr Kambwili has also said his Ministry is in the process of handing over all sporting infrastructure to the National Sports Council for proper management as boards of trustees have failed to run them.

He named Golf courses from Livingstone, Kasama, Cooperbelt and Chipata as some of the infrastructures that will be managed by National Sports Council to bring sanity in the management.

Mr Kambwili further said his ministry will ensure that David Kaunda stadium in Chipata is funded yearly for it to be well maintained.

He said there is need to close the pitch so that rehabilitation of the infrastructure can be done to improve the standards and the loan is nurtured.

He said the Ministry Youth and Sport will engage both the council and the provincial administration to ensure proper works are conducted, adding that government cannot allow the situation to deteriorate.

And Eastern Province Permanent Secretary, Chileshe Mulenga, stated that the major concern among the youths was Youth Empowerment Funds that did not come in 2013 to date.

Dr Mulenga also said another challenge among youths was learning in dilapidated infrastructure, saying there is need to improve already-existing infrastructure to create an enabling learning environment for youths by coordinating with the Ministry of Education.