Parliament resumes sitting

Banner 3
Banner 3

-The Second Session of the Eleventh National Assembly that went on recess in March has resumed its sitting today.


Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Patrick Matibini guided the House that commenced business at 14:30 hours local time.


 The House adjoined on March 15, this year after successful deliberations that saw the lifting of Fourth Republican President Rupiah Banda’s immunity to pave way for possible prosecutions for alleged corruption charges.


New entrant to the House is Kapiri-Mposhi Member of Parliament (MP) Eddie Musonda who dislodged Lawrence Zimba of the United Party for National Development (UPND) in a By-election. 


Absent in the House will be Feira MP Patrick Ngoma who defected to join the ruling Patriotic Front (PF), Chipata Central MP Reuben Phiri and Maxwell Mwale whose seats was nullified by the Supreme Court.


Others notable absentees are former Solwezi East MP Richard Taima, Mkushi North MP Musonda Mutale and Kafulafuta’s James Chishiba who resigned from the opposition MMD to join PF.


However , Lukulu West parliamentarian Misheck  Mutelo has bounced back on the UPND ticket.


Mr. Mutelo was absent during the last session after his seat was nullified by Court but managed to successfully defend it after dumping the former ruling party MMD.


The House however would receive newly appointed Deputy Ministers Poniso Njeulu who is Information and Broadcasting services Deputy Minister and Taundi Chiseke of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs who were back benchers.


PF Chilubi MP Obious Chisala joins his colleagues on the right bench after his appointment as Minister for Northern Province.


The House considered six bills in the last proceedings namely Teaching Profession, Higher Education, Millennium Challenge Compact, National Health Research, Medicines and Allied Substance and the Bank of Zambia Act which was Amended.