Rural Electrification Authority (REA) to install solar in 7 province

solar panel - Stock Photo

THE Rural Electrification Authority (REA) has set aside K5 million for the installation of solar electrification programme in seven provinces this year.
REA chief executive officer Geoffrey Musonda said the authority intends to electrify 36 primary school blocks, 16 health centres, and 113 staff houses in seven provinces.
In response to a press query yesterday, Mr Musonda said the programme will be implemented in Eastern, North-Western, Luapula, Northern, Southern, Copperbelt, and Lusaka provinces.
Other targeted institutions earmarked for solar electrification are, local courts, chiefs’ palaces, agriculture camps, and police posts.
“The total budget allocation for undertaking solar energy installations for 2013 is K5 million,” he said.
Mr Musonda also said the authority has received applications for capital subsidy support for biomass and solar projects.
He said support is provided to projects such as the extension of the national grid, installation solar energy systems, development of mini-hydro power plants and biomass technology.
“The authority has so far received two applications for capital subsidy support for biomass and solar projects respectively. These projects are still under consideration and have not yet been approved.
One of the projects is the one megawatts biomass gasifier project to be implemented by the Copperbelt Energy Corporation,” he said.
He said so far, no applicants have benefited from the subsidy programme due to failure to meet minimum requirements.
Mr Musonda, however, said the two current applicants have submitted promising proposals although the final result will only be determined once the analysis has been conducted.