ECZ sets September 24 for Lubansenshi by-election

Voting in sparsely populated Zambezi-West parliamentary by-election started on schedule at 06:00 hours and at Mapashi polling station 45 people had cast their votes by 06:39 hours.

The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has set September 24, 2015 as the date on which to hold the parliamentary by-election in Lubansenshi Constituency in Luwingu district.


ECZ Public Relations Manager Chrispin Akufuna has told ZANIS in a statement today that the by-election in Lubansenshi will be held on the same day with those in Solwezi West Constituency and Seven local government wards on the Copperbelt, Eastern, Lusaka, Northern, North-Western and Western provinces.


Mr. Akufuna said the Lubansenshi constituency seat fell vacant following the nullification of the election of the independent Member of Parliament Patrick Mucheleka by the Supreme Court.


The ECZ has also set Wednesday, August 26, 2015 as the date for filling of nominations by the aspiring candidates in the by-elections which will be done between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours.


Mr Akufuna added that aspiring candidates in both the parliamentary local government by- elections should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government primary or secondary school, a Principal of a College, Commissioner of Oaths , Election or Returning Officer.


He said the candidates should take along nine supporters who must be registered voters in the affected Constituency and wards.


Mr Akufuna also said the Parliamentary by-election aspiring candidates are required to pay a non-refundable nomination fee of K500 while candidates aspiring in local government by-elections are required to pay K100, K75, K50 for City, Municipal and District Councils respectively.


He further said the campaign period commences on August 26, 2015 at 15:00 hours and ends on September 23, 2015 at 18:00 hours.


The Seven local government by-elections will be held in Lufwanyama district ( Mushingashi ward), Lundazi district ( Nthitimila ward), Chilanga district ( Namalombwe ward ) and in Chilubi district in Mofu ward.


Mr Akufuna named the other wards as Kawiku in Mwinilunga district, Mambolomoka and Sipuma wards both in Shangombo districts in the Western province.