AFCON 2017: Kenya in tough qualifying group


Kenya has been named in a tough Group that has Zambia, Guinea Bissau and Congo Brazzaville in 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in June

Kenya has been handed a tough Group in qualifying matches for 2017 Africa Cup of Nations set to kick-off in June.
Harambee Stars are in Group ‘E’ of the competition alongside 2012 champions Zambia, Guinea Bissau and Congo Brazzaville. According to the fixtures, the Bobby Williamson handled side will start their campaign with an away fixture to Congo between June 12 to 14.

Both Zambia and Congo look favorites to finish ahead of Group ‘E’ given the fact that they both featured in 2015 Africa Cup of Nations finals held in Equatorial Guinea. The other opponents in the Group, Guinea Bissau just like Kenya did not qualify for this year’s competition.

In September, Kenya will take on Zambia at home in the second match. They will then travel to Guinea Bissau in March next year. The return match against Congo Brazzaville will be played in June next year in Nairobi before winding up the qualifiers against Zambia in September

AFCON 2017 qualifiers draw in full:

Group A: Tunisia, Togo, Liberia, Djibouti
Group B: DR Congo, Angola, Central African Republic, Madagascar
Group C: Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Benin, South Sudan
Group D, Burkina Faso, Uganda, Botswana, Comoros
Group E: Zambia, Congo, Kenya, Guinea Bissau
Group F: Cape Verde, Morocco, Libya, Sao Tome
Group G: Nigeria, Egypt, Tanzania, Chad
Group H: Ghana, Mozambique, Rwanda, Mauritius
Group I: Cote d’Ivoire, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Gabon
Group J: Algeria, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Seychelles
Group K: Senegal, Niger, Namibia, Burundi
Group L: Guinea, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Swaziland
Group M: Cameroon, South Africa, Gambia, Mauritania