MMD formally writes to Speaker over expulsion of five MPs

MMD President Dr Nevers Sekwila Mumba
MMD President Dr Nevers Sekwila Mumba

The opposition MMD has formally written to the Speaker of National Assembly Patrick Matibini notifying him of its decision to expel five of its Members of Parliament.

MMD National Secretary Mwansa Mbulakulima has disclosed to Qfm News by telephone that the letters notifying the Speaker of the party’s decision were delivered on Monday 2nd February,2015.

Mr. Mbulakulima named the affected Members of Parliament as Felix Mutati, Situmbeko Musokotwane, Elijah Muchima, Levy Ngoma and Kabinga Pande.

He has however stated that the former ruling party does not take pleasure by the fact that its decision to expel the five lawmakers might result in the holding of by-elections in the country.

Mr. Mbulakulima states that people in the country will do well to take note that each time its members such Members of Parliament err it does not resort to expelling them.

He has given the example of Mwandi Member of Parliament Michael Kaingu and his Mumbwa counterpart Brian Chituwo as some of the members that committed gross misconduct but never got expelled.



  1. I see it not making any sense becoz MMD is disintegrated and why disintegrating it further? ……I’m not a fortune teller but the fact is that it will never bounce back into power no matter wat.