SADC Ministers meet on restructions of RETOSA

Tourism and Arts Minister, Jean Kapata - photo credit The Post
Tourism and Arts Minister, Jean Kapata - photo credit The Post

ourism Ministers from Zambia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Seychelles and Namibia met in Angola to prepare for the 19 & 20 June SADC Ministers Meeting in Zambia to work on recommendations for the restructuring of RETOSA for the SADC Head of State Meeting later this year. South Africa was being represented at the meeting by their DG for Tourism.

Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, South Africa and Seychelles all form part of the AD HOC Committee on Restructuring of RETOSA established by SADC Ministers for Tourism to prepare recommendations for the way forward for RETOSA. The meeting under the Chairmanship of Minister Jean Kapata of Zambia heard reports from the two subcommittees established to prepare reports namely: South Africa & Mozambique are the working group on Administration, Finance and Legal Issues with Zimbabwe & Seychelles being the working group on Policy and Programs.

The Angola Meeting follows the meeting that was held in Madrid on the sidelines of the FITUR Tourism Trade Fair. The five Ministers presenter at the Angola Meeting were Jean Kapata (Zambia) Walter Mzembi (Zimbabwe), Carvalho Muaria (Mozambique), Alain St.Ange (Seychelles) and Uahekua Herunga (Namibia).