Newly created district councils receive vehicles, equipment

Banner 3
Banner 3

Government has procured 17 motor vehicles and office equipment for the first newly created districts in Zambia.


ZANIS reports that Minister of Local Government and Housing, Emerine Kabanshi, said the 17 vehciles and office equipment were procured at a cost of nearly KR3.2 million.


Ms. Kabanshi said government was equipping newly established councils to enable them work efficiently in fostering development especially that they did not have the burden of past underperformance and incompetence which older councils were dealing with.

She said this in Lusaka today when she handed over 15 vehicles and office equipment to Zimba, Pemba, Chikankata, Chirundu, Chilanga, Shibuyunji, Mulobezi, Rufunsa, Vubwi, Sinda, Chipili, Chembe, Lunga, Mwansabombwe and Nsama local authorities.

Mafinga and Ikelengi districts only received office equipment today because they already got their vehicles earlier while 14 other new councils will get similar vehciles and equipment in future.

The minister has since implored the receiving councils to use the vehciles and equipment for the delivery of quality services to the public.

Ms. Kabanshi further urged newly created councils to monitor development projects and solve challenges of revenue collection because they now have transport.

She also said government was now considering providing municipal infrastructure such as institutional housing, civic centres, public libnraries, multipurpose community halls and guest houses to the new councils.

And Lunga District Council Secretary, Oswell Mpofu, who spoke on behalf of other receiving local authorities, pledged that the vehicles and office equipment would be used for the intended purpose.

Mr. Mpofu noted that creating new districts will translate into the provision of municipal services cloer to the people than before.

The 14 new district councils that are yet to receive vehciles when government procures some more are Sikongo, Nalolo, Sioma, Mitete, Luampa, Limulunga, Nkeyama, Mwandi, manyinga, Chisamba, Luano, Chitambo, Ngabwe and Shiwang’andu.