PF scoops Mpongwe parliamentary seat

Banner 3
Banner 3

PF scoops Mpongwe parliamentary seat


Mpongwe, March 1, ZANIS —–The ruling Patriotic Front (PF) has scooped the Mpongwe parliamentary by election with a margin of 1531 votes.


ZANIS Ndola reports that Mpongwe parliamentary by election Returning Officer Joackim Mangwale who declared Gabriel Namulambe as the solely elected Member of Parliament for Mpongwe constituency said the PF candidate polled  4,600 votes while his closest rival, UPND’s Rapson Chilufya got 3, 069 votes.


Mr Mangwale said MMD’s Minniver Mtesa polled 901 votes while NAREP’s Reagan Ndhlovu was in fourth position with 588 votes and Kenny Kuveya of UNIP was in fifth position with only 110 votes.


And speaking shortly after being declared winner at 11:00 hours Mr Namulambe said time for politicking in Mpongwe had come to an end and further called upon all the losing candidates to work with him in developing the area.


Meanwhile the opposition UPND losing candidate Mr Rapson Chilufya has conceded defeat and advised the winning candidate to adhere to promises made during the campaign period.


“I have conceded defeat, the winner told the people of Mpongwe that if they wanted to see development they had to vote for the ruling party so now we are waiting to see that development,” said Mr Chilufya.


Mr Chilufya further said UPND had gained momentum in Mpongwe and that his team would not rest but keep on stabilizing their party in the area.


“As a party we have gained momentum we shall not rest but keep on ensuring that UPND is stable in this area, UPND is now established in Mpongwe,” he said.


And NAREP candidate Reagan Ndhlovu who also conceded defeat said he was not disappointed with the outcome of the election and that he would use the result to prepare adequately for 2016.


Mr Ndhlovu said the minimal voter turnout could be attributed to harassment of voters by some opposition political parties.


The Mpongwe parliamentary seat fail vacant after the MMD MP Gabriel Namulambe resigned from the former ruling party to join the ruling PF.