Namulambe declared winner in Mpongwe Parliamentary by-election

Gabriel Namulambe

Ruling Patriotic Front candidate Gabriel Namulambe has been declared winner of the Mpongwe Parliamentary by-election

Returning office Joachim Mangwane declared Mr Namulambe the winner after polling 4, 600 against his closest opponent Rabson Chilufya of the UPND who polled 3,069 votes.

Mr. Namulambe retains the seat he held under the MMD.
Mr Mangwane announced the official election results at around 11: hours this morning.

In the third position was MMD candidate Miniver Mutesa who polled 901 votes with NAREP candidate Reagan Ndhlovu collecting 588 votes.

UNIP candidate Kenny Kuveya trailed behind with 110 votes.

Mpongwe has 48 polling stations and the election was marred by voter apathy.

And MMD Mafinga Member of Parliament Catherine Namugala says the former ruling party’s third place finish in the Mpongwe by-election is due to poor leadership.

Ms Namugala said this in Parliament today when she congratulated the PF for winning the by-election.

Meanwhile the ruling PF has scooped the Basanga ward in Itezhi-tezhi and the Lambwe ward in Namwala by-elections respectively.

The Basanga ward election the PF candidate polled 542 votes against the UPND candidate’s 139 votes.