Four file in their nominations in Nyika Ward Local government by-elections in Petauke

Banner 3
Banner 3

Four file in their nominations in Nyika Ward Local government by-elections in Petauke

Petauke , June 28th 2013, ZANIS —- Four candidates have successfully filled in their nominations for the Nyika Ward Local government by-elections in Petauke Central Constituency.


Returning officer Dulani Phiri said all the four candidates were valid.


Mr Phiri said among those who filled in their nominations were George Banda from the Patriotic Front (PF), Kelvin Phiri from the Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD), Martine Kateule from United Party for National Development (UPND) and Jones Mwale who is standing on the United National Independence Party (UNIP).


And  PF’S candidate George Banda said he joined the ruling party because it is the government in place which is committed to improving the livelihood of people not only in urban areas but also in rural areas.


Speaking shortly after his nominations,   Mr Banda said if voted into office he would make sure that people in the ward have access to clean drinking water as well as good road networks.


And in Lusinde Ward of Kapoche Constituency, four candidates successfully filled in their nominations.


Returning Officer Regina Katongo named the four candidates as Henry Zulu( PF), James Mwale (MMD) while Mumba Kalanzi is standing on the UPND ticket and Rabson Banda filled in the UNIP seat.


Meanwhile, PF District Information and Publicity Secretary Ledger Tembo advised all the political parties participating in the Nyika and Lusinde Wards Local government by-elections to remain peaceful as they campaign ahead of the polls scheduled for July 25th 2013.


Mr Tembo said peaceful elections will help the country to attain the democratic tenents as well as help in the economic emancipation in the country.


The two seats fell vacant after former Nyika and Lusinde Wards Councillors George Banda and Henry Zulu resigned respectively, from the former ruling MMD to join the ruling Patriotic Front.