ONLY four Higher Education Institutions qualify to reopen 22nd January

2013 Evelyn Hone College graduation ceremony in Pictures

The Higher Education Authority (HEA) has granted permission to ONLY four (4) Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) to reopen today, Monday, 22nd January, 2018.

As of 10am on Monday, 22ndDecember, 2018, only DMI St Eugene Chibombo and Chipata Campuses, Evangelical and Northrise Universities had been verified by the Authority to have passed the inspections administered by the relevant public health departments of the Ministry of Health (MoH) or the Local Authorities.

The Authority is warning stern and swift action to any HEI that will resume operations without being given a written directive to do so post inspections from the relevant public health departments of the MoH orthe Local Authorities.

This is in following the directive issued by the Ministry of Higher Education (MoHE) that private HEIs could only reopen on 22nd January, 2018, if they were cleared by the relevant public health departments of the MoH or the Local Authorities

The Authority will continue to update this article with the names of HEIs allowed to operate as throughout the day, and as information is received, accordingly..

By Birbal Boniface Musoba,

Information, Education and Communication (IEC) Officer
22nd January, 2018