Chipolopolo Coach George Lwandamina has named the Final 23-Man Squad

Chipolopolo Coach George Lwandamina has named the Final 23-Man Squad,scheduled to fly to South Africa this Friday January 8th,for further preparations ahead of the upcoming 2016 Africa Nations Championship(CHAN) to be hosted by Rwanda.

Chipolopolo debutants Racha Kola(Zanaco FC),Steven Kabamba, Adrian Chama(both GBFC), Lawrence Mulenga, Solomon Sakala (both Kabwe Wariors), Adamson Mulao(Green Eagles), will have an opportunity to showcase their talents and hope to fill the gap left by regular players who will miss the tournament.

Veterans Christopher Katongo, Isaac Chansa and Jacob Banda will provide the necessary experience and leadership in the squad, while Buchizya Mfune, Christopher Munthali, Conlyde Luchanga, Spencer Sautu, Dauti Musekwa and Mwape Mwelwa are slowly cementing their places in national teams’ places,after making the cut in recent Chipolopolo final squads.

Zambia will however have to deal with the absence of influential players like Winston Kalengo,Charles Zulu,Paul Katema,Danny Muyao,Festus Mbewe among others, due to respective reasons and commitments,while a cross section of fans have continued to express concern over the failure to extend a call-up to Zanaco Striker Moses Phiri who scored 11 goals in the 2015MTN/FAZ Zambia Super League.

Meanwhile,Boyd Mkandawire(Napsa Stars) and Toaster Nsabata (Zanaco FC) are the notable players who did not make the final list.

Rwanda 2016 CHAN kick-off on January 16th,and Zambia’s first match against Zimbabwe will be played on jan 19th, before meeting Uganda on Jan 23rd,and facing Mali in a concluding Group ‘D’ fixture on jan 27th.


Jacob Banda(Zesco United FC),Racha Kola(Zanaco FC),Lawrence Mulenga(Kabwe Wariors).

Buchizya Mfune,Adrian Chama,Steven Kabamba(GBFC),Dauti Musekwa(Zesco United FC),Christopher Munthali(Nkana FC),George Chilufya(Zanaco FC),Solomon Sakala(Kabwe Wariors),Benson Sakala(Power Dynamos).

Isaac Chansa,Salulani Phiri(both Zanaco FC),Mwape Mwelwa,Cletous Chota(both Zesco United FC),Spencer Sautu,Mwila Phiri Jnr(both Green Eagles),Donashano Malama(Nkana FC),Jack Chirwa(GBFC).

Christopher Katongo(GBFC),Conlyde Luchanga,Patson Daka(both Power Dynamos),Adamuson Mulao(Green Eagles).


  1. Hahahahahahaha C Katongo?old tired legs,my Zim’s young lads will run rings over him.we waiting for u guys in group A’s opening match

  2. A’m very hapy to see these two guys to be back in the squad.Isaac Chansa & Chris,i lov the zambian national team than any.

Leave a Reply to Emmanuel Mwansa Cancel reply