Lwandamina targets early goal

George Lwandamina
George Lwandamina

NATIONAL team coach George Lwandamina is targeting an early goal in Sunday’s 2016 Rwanda African Nations Championship (CHAN) final round return leg against Mozambique.
And Lwandamina has named a 20-member squad that has no room for goalkeeper Danny Munyao, midfielder Kennedy Mudenda, defenders Kayawe Kapota and Solomon Sakala.
Lwandamina said after a training session at Independence Stadium in Lusaka yesterday that getting an early goal will unsettle the Mambas.

He said the team has prepared adequately for any situation that might arise including penalty shootouts.
“Our objective is to qualify for the CHAN finals and we are working towards that. There is a distance between where we are and Rwanda so we have to make this journey smooth,” Lwandamina said.
He said the team is 75 percent ready and will be at full throttle by tomorrow.
Lwandamina has ruled out employing a defensive tactics despite his team carrying a comfortable 3-0 lead.
“I have never parked a bus in my life. Some people were saying we parked the bus in Kenya but they didn’t know what was happening… it was just circumstances. After Winstone Kalengo left with an injury we didn’t have depth and the balls kept coming back,” he said referring to the 2-1 win over Kenya in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Nairobi last month.
Meanwhile, Lwandamina has kept faith in striker Moses Phiri, midfielders Mwape Mwelwa and Mwila Phiri junior, who were summoned to the Chipolopolo on Monday.
Mudenda started the match in Ndola but was replaced by Spencer Sautu, who scored alongside Winston Kalengo and another substitute Conlyde Luchanga.
Luchanga was unleashed for Festus Mbewe.
Team manager Lusekelo Kamwambi, who released the list in Lusaka yesterday, said the players are ready for battle.
The Chipolopolo are expected to leave for Maputo today.
The team:
Goalkeepers: Jacob Banda, Toaster Nsabata
Defenders: Dauti Musekwa, Christopher Munthali, Boyd Mkandawire, Benedict Chepeshi, Donashano Malama, Salulani Phiri, Buchizya Mfune
Midfielders: Jackson Chirwa, Benson Sakala, Paul Katema, Spencer Sautu, Charles Zulu, Mwape Mwelwa, Mwila Phiri junior
Strikers: Winston Kalengo, Festus Mbewe, Conlyde Luchanga and Moses Phiri



Leave a Reply to David Kapaya Cancel reply