Counting underway in Lukulu West

Banner 3
Banner 3

Counting underway in Lukulu West

Lukulu, January  21, 2015, ZANIS…Counting of votes is underway in some polling stations in Lukulu West Constituency.

ZANIS reports that by 10:00 hours this morning about 8 polling stations out of 40 had already finished counting the ballot papers.

Lukulu West Constituency Returning Officer Jane Tembo named the 8 polling stations as Simayumbula, Sikunduko, Nangweshi and Mitete.

Others are Katebe, Mukuma, Mungundu and Mwino polling stations.

Ms. Tembo said ballot boxes for the 8 polling stations have since been arrived at Mitete Primary School which is the totalling Centre.

And Ms. Tembo said four more polling stations are expected to vote today saying this has been delayed by transport challenges faced to access some areas.

She named the four that will be voting today as Lupui, Kakunju, Chinonwe and Londole Polling Stations.

Meanwhile, poll staff and election materials for Chinonwe polling station left this morning around 05 :00 hours by water transport.

And Mitete Polling Station Presiding Officer Mbanga Mwanangombe said the counting has been smooth saying out of 450 registered voters only 234 had voted by 18:00 hours yesterday.

At Mbao Polling Station the Presiding Officer Charles Muntutu says 155 cast their votes by 18:04 hours out of a total number of 341.