UPND’s Shakafuswa declared winner

Jonas Shakafuswa of the United Party for National Development (UPND)
Jonas Shakafuswa of the United Party for National Development (UPND)
UPND candidate Jonas Shakafuwa has officially been declared the winner of the Katuba parliamentary by-election held yesterday.

Mr Shakafuswa who previously held the seat under the MMD before losing it in the 2011 elections when he stood on the UPND ticket beat six other candidate by a big margin.

Returning officer Mutandi Mwanamwalye declared Mr Shakafuswa the winner at about 10:25 hours this morning after polling 4,781 votes against his closest rival PF’s Moses Chilando who polled 2,747 votes.

MMD’s Cecil Holmes trailed a distant third with 734 votes followed by NAREP’s Joseph Mushalika with 566 votes,while ABZ’s Patricia Mwashingwele polled 393 votes.

UNIP’s Allan Malawo polled 124 votes with National Revolution Party candidate Shakespeare Mwakamui managing to poll a paltry 23 votes.

9,481 votes were cast in the election out of the 28,903 registered voters, with 113 votes being rejected as spoilt ballots.

Voter turnout was 32.8% against the total number of registered voters.