H.H thanks the electorate for victory in Katuba Constituency by- elections

Banner 3
Banner 3

H.H thanks  the electorate for victory in Katuba Constituency by- elections

Lusaka, February  26th, 2014, ZANIS  —-  Opposition United Party for National Development ( UPND 0 leader Hakainde Hichilema says he has  dedicated today’s  victory in the Katuba by-elections to the fight for a "people driven constitution".


Mr. Hichilema says on his facebook page that  his political will continue standing with the Church mother bodies, the Constitution coalition and other stakeholders for a better constitution for our Country Zambia.

He says he also  pays  tribute to the electorate who turned up to cast their votes in the just ended round of by-elections .


“ To the campaigners who spent a lot of time away from their families campaigning for a better Zambia , I thank you.


“I also extend my profound gratitude to the families for allowing their spouses, children, fathers, mother, brothers and sisters etc to get involved in the campaigns for a better Zambia your contributions and participation is simply invaluable, “he said.

He has advised the newly elected MP and Councillors in the country be loyal to the electorate as they have been elected to represent the views and aspirations of the people.


“   You are servants and not masters of the people and we therefore expect you to serve the people. Congratulations of your electoral victories!” he said.


The opposition party reclaimed the Katuba parliamentary seat nearly eight years after losing it to the Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) in the 2006 general elections.


Winning candidate Jonas Shakafuswa, who was former MMD Member of Parliament for Katuba from 2006 to 2011, was declared winner at around 10:20 hours today at Muwanjuni totalling centre in Katuba constituency by Electoral Commission of Zambia Returning Officer Mutandi Mwanamwalye.


Mr. Shakafuswa, who left MMD in 2011 to rejoin UPND which he had represented in parliament as Katuba MP between 2001 and 2006, poured 4, 781 while his closet rival Moses Chilando of the ruling Patriotic Front (PF) poured 2,747 votes.


Former ruling party, the Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) candidate Cecil Holmes was third with 734, while National Restoration Party (NAREP) candidate Joseph Mushalika was fourth after polling 566 votes.


In the fifth place was Alliance for Better Zambia’s (ABZ) Patricia Mwashingwele who got 393 votes, United National Independence Party (UNIP) candidate Friday Malawo was in the sixth place with 124 votes.