Father Bwalya’s party breaching the Electoral Code of Conduct in Katuba

Father Bwalya - Red card

THE National Revolution Party (NRP) has accused the Alliance for a Better Zambia (ABZ) of breaching the Electoral Code of Conduct in Katuba Constituency ahead of the February 25, 2014 by-election.
But ABZ Katuba Constituency candidate, Patricia Mwashingwele has dismissed NRP president Cosmo Mumba’s allegations.
Giving an update on the Katuba parliamentary by-election campaigns, Dr Mumba said in an interview in Lusaka yesterday that the campaigns were going on well, but that ABZ was allegedly dishing out money at Situmbeko Market.
“As I speak right now, I am in Situmbeko touring. We had a rally on Saturday and the response here in Katuba is overwhelming, but we are having a problem with Father Frank Bwalya.
“He is breaching the Electoral Code of Conduct. We passed through Situmbeko Market on Saturday and people there are wondering why we were just passing through without leaving them with any money,” Dr Mumba said.
He accused the ABZ of trying to corrupt the electorate in Katuba Constituency by allegedly dishing out money and challenged relevant authorities to investigate the matter.
Dr Mumba said such ‘tactics’ were making campaigns difficult.
He was, however, confident that his candidate, Shakespeare Mwakamui would emerge victorious as NRP had embarked on a vigorous campaign. Ms Mwashingwele said Dr Mumba was peddling falsehoods.
“Cosmo is lying, we don’t even have the money to dish out,” she said.
Ms Mwashingwele said the campaign was going on well and that the party had been received well in the area.
She was also happy that there were no differences with other parties, an indication that the contestants were keeping their distances.
The Katuba seat fell vacant after the death of former MMD Member of Parliament Patrick Chikusu, who was also Health deputy minister.
Seven candidates on January 28, 2014 successfully filed in their nomination papers to contest the seat.
Besides Mr Mwakamui and Ms Mwashingwele, other candidates are United Party for National Development’s Jonas Shakafuswa, Patriotic Front’s Moses Chilando, Cecil Holmes for MMD, UNIP’s Friday Malawo and Joseph Mushalika for National Restoration Party.