Cosafa under-20 Youth Championship historical stats


COSAFA U20 CUP December 3-14, 2013 Fixture



A1: Lesotho B1: Angola
A2: Kenya B2: Mozambique
A3: Comoros B3: Madagascar
A4: Mauritius



C1: Zambia D1: Botswana
C2: South Africa D2: Zimbabwe
C3: Namibia D3: Swaziland
C4: Seychelles

Championship historical statistics


The Cosafa under-20 Youth Championships returns after a year’s break with the latest tournament to be staged in Lesotho from December 3-14, 2013.

We thought we would have some fun and pick out some key numbers from the history of the regional showpiece junior competition.

0 – The only final to finish goalless was in 2001 when Zambia needed a penalty shoot-out to beat Angola 5-3 on spot-kicks. That remains the only final to go to a shoot-out.

2 – The number of host cities at the COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships – Mafeteng and Maseru.

3 – Angola lost three finals in a row between 2000 and 2002. They made the deciding match in 2011 but lost again. They have yet to win the regional title.

4 – The number of first round groups at this year’s COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships – two with four teams and two with three countries.

9 – The most number of goals scored in a single final – South Africa defeated Zambia 5-4 in 2004!

9 – South Africa beat Namibia 9-0 in the group stages of the 2009 tournament. Thulane Ngcepe scored a hat-trick that day.

10 – The number of titles won by Zambia, the most successful nation in the history of the COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships.

11 – The number of years in a row that South Africa hosted the event between 1999 and 2009.

14 – The number of teams who will compete in this year’s COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships in Lesotho, including East African guests Kenya.

24 – The number of matches that will be played at this year’s COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships.

1983 – The first time a regional competition was staged for junior teams. It was won by Zambia.

2000 – The first time a nation other than Zambia or Zimbabwe lifted the trophy – South Africa claimed the prize in 2000.

2005 – Madagascar became just the fourth country to lift the trophy after Zambia, Zimbabwe and South Africa.