President Lungu to announce full Cabinet


President Edgar Lungu is tomorrow expected to announce his full Cabinet at a Press Conference slated for State House in Lusaka.


And President Lungu is further expected to swear in the eight Provincial Ministers he appointed this week while on his retreat in Mfuwe in the Eastern province.


Special Assistant for Press and Public Relations Amos Chanda confirmed the development to ZANIS at State House today.


The Head of State appointed the remaining eight Provincial Ministers and retained Brigadier General Benson Kapaya for Luapula, Freedom Sikazwe (Northern) and Malozo Sichone (Eastern Province)  respectively.


President Lungu also retained Mwenya Musenge as Copperbelt Province Minister while former Information and Broadcasting Services Deputy Minister Ponsio Njeulu (UPND) will be sworn in as the new minister for Western Province taking over from Richwell Siamunene who is also a Member of Parliament for the opposition United Party for National Development (UPND) who were co-opted to in the PF government by the late President Michael Sata.


The President also appointed former Works and Supply deputy Minister Mwimba Malama as the minister for Muchinga Province replacing PF Kanyama MP Gerry Chanda while Davies Chisopa will be sworn in as the new minister for Central Province taking over from Obvious Mwaliteta who has been moved in the same capacity to Lusaka Province.


The President last month appointed Nathaniel Mubukwanu as Southern province minister and Dawson Kafwaya as the North Western province minister.


Meanwhile, Mr. Chanda said the swearing in ceremony and the announcement of President Lungu’s full Cabinet is set for State House tomorrow at 09:00 hours.


He advised that members of the media should be seated by 08:30 hours.


President Lungu emerged victorious during the January 20th , 2015 Presidential Election defeating his closest rival opposition United Party for National Development (UPND) leader, Hikainde Hichilema following president Michael Sata’s death in London on 28th October, 2014.


The Presidential by-election was also contested by nine other candidates including Edith Nawakwi of the Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) who was the only female Presidential aspirant.