Lungu Wins Mbala constituency


The ruling Patriotic Front (PF) candidate, Edgar Chagwa Lungu, has emerged victorious beating 10 other contenders in the Tuesday’s Presidential election in Mbala.


Mbala Constituency Returning Officer, Mwilu Lukwesa, announced that Mr Lungu polled 6, 727 while the closest contender, Hakainde Hichilema of the United Party for National Development got 1, 430 out of 8,674 total vote casts from 54 polling stations.


Mr Lukwesa yesterday announced the results given to other candidates with Edith Nawakwi of FDD getting 121 votes; Tilyenji Kaunda of UNIP, 90, Eric Chanda from 4th Revolution Party, 81 and Peter Sinkamba of the Green Party polling 54.


Other results were Nevers Mumba from the MMD, 49, Godfrey Miyanda of Heritage Party, 48, Daniel Pule of Christian Democratic Party, 30, Elias Chipimo of NAREP 29 and Ludwig Sondashi polled 15 votes.


By press time, results from Senga Hill Constituency, were being awaited from Mambwe Mission.