Chipolopolo ready to defend title – Supersport

Zambia 2-0 Zimbabwe - Chipolopolo Cosafa Cup champions @ Levi Mwanawasa Stadium

Defending champions Zambia and Mozambique are the latest sides to confirm their participation for the 2014 Cosafa Cup to be held in Botswana from September 13-28.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

The pair join the hosts, Zimbabwe, Namibia, South Africa, Malawi, Seychelles, Lesotho and Swaziland as having stated their intention to take part in the regional championship labelled by Fifa president Sepp Blatter as the best in the world.

Only the island nations of Comoros and Mauritius have yet to put their names forward, along with Angola who are expected to make a decision in the coming days.

The deadline to confirm participation is Friday, April 25.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

It is also highly likely that there will be guest nations from outside the region taking part to add a pan-African flavour to the tournament with Cosafa already in negotiations on this score.

The Cosafa Cup returns this year after the successful hosting of the 2013 edition in Zambia last July, with the host nation defeating Zimbabwe in the final to record their fourth tournament win, drawing them level with the Zimbabweans at the top of the list for all-time tournament victories.

South Africa and Angola are the only other to nations to have lifted the title and have three wins each.



(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});